In an earlier post (Merge Join Task Complete Cop Out) I lamented about how if you changed the sort order in the data flow earlier in the data flow that a merge join task completely flipped out and would even lock down to where you could not edit it.
I stand by my statement that the dialog box that is presented is a complete cop-out – but now I have found a way to keep it from happening.
I figured out that what it was complaining about whs the output of the Merge Join Task. When you change the sort order and double clicked on the task, it would ask you if it should change to use the new sort order. All well and good. You click ok and get out and it still had a red X on it. You double click and it would then tell you it couldn’t be edited any more because of the limitations of the dialog box. Well – when you change the sort order, the automatic process that fixes the join key and such doesn’t fix the sort order of the Merge Join Task Output.
If you will delete the output to the Merge Join before you start the process, you are presented with the same set of dialogs, except you can then join the output of the Merge Join to the next task thereby resetting its metadata and all is cool.